Review of “Space Carrier Avalon”

51ihMJsD6uL

Book Reviews – “Space Carrier Avalon” eBook was published in 2015 and was written by Glynn Stewart (https://www.glynnstewart.com). Mr. Stewart has published nearly 30 novels. This is the first in his “Castle Federation” series.

I received an ARC of this novel through https://www.netgalley.com in return for a fair and honest review. I categorize this novel as ‘R’ because it contains scenes of Violence and Mature Situations. The story is set in the far future of the 28th century. The primary character is Wing Command Kyle Roberts.

The Space Carrier Avalon is a legendary craft, though now approaching the end of its useful life. Roberts is reporting aboard to take command of his first fighter group. The mission of the Avalon, and probably its last,  is to make a sweep through Castle Federation Space. More of a diplomatic mission that a show of force with the aging carrier.

As soon as Roberts is aboard he begins to notices things that are amiss and the details soon surface of widespread abuse of the role the Avalon has been playing in the Castle Federation Navy the past few years. Roberts has many obstacles to overcome with some lazy and thieving crew members. This all begins to turn into a desperate situation as the delicate peace the Castle Federation has enjoyed several years is suddenly shattered. Roberts and the crew of the Avalon are thrust into one desperate situation after another.

I thoroughly enjoyed the 8.5 hours I spent reading this 343 page science fiction thriller. I liked the characters developed for the story. While I have read other novels with the same basic plot of ‘space force at peace, then attacked and must respond’, I did enjoy this interpretation. This is a series that I would like to read more of. I have to say that now that I have read and enjoyed two Glynn Stewart novels, I will be looking for more from this author. I give this novel a 4.5 (rounded up to a 5) out of 5.

My book reviews are also published on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31181778-john-purvis).


Discover more from John's Notes

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.