Review of “Journey to the Flame”

51qC4JCn2lL

Book Reviews – “Journey to the Flame” eBook was published in 2016 (original paper edition published in 1985) and was written by Richard Monaco. Mr. Monaco has published 9 books.

I received an free copy of this novel through Amazon while it was being promoted by the publisher. I categorize this novel as ‘R’ because it contains scenes of Violence and Mature Situations. The story takes place at the beginning of World War I. The primary character is American pilot Woody Shea.

Shea, his uncle and a few others get involved with an adventure to Africa in search of the lost city of Kor and King Soloman’s mines. It is a race between the British with Shea, and German agents.

As they get closer to the fabled Kor, most of the party begins to be affected. They are possessed from time to time by personalities from an early age.

So I suffered through 7.5 hours to finish this 261 page Fantasy Adventure. I say suffered because I thought the story was chaotic and difficult to read. I liked the overall plot, but the constant switching of personalities, and philosophizing made enjoying the novel difficult. The cover art is OK, but I think it could have been more closely tied to the story. I give this novel a 2.5 (rounded up to a 3) out of 5.

My book reviews are also published on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31181778-john-purvis).

Leave a Reply

