‘Safe’ Level of Caffeine Confirmed

coffee

Coffee – When I came across the article “Drinking Four Cups of Coffee Is Probably Safe” this morning I had to read it. I learned a few things from the article:

  1. We should all try to limit our daily consumption to about 400mg of caffeine (I have seen this suggestion before)
  2. The “World’s sTrongest Coffee” is something called Black Insomnia – they claim a minimum of 702 mg of Caffeine per 12 fl. oz. cup
  3. A close runner up to Black Insomnia is Death Wish – they also claim to be the “World’s Strongest Coffee”

That 400mg rule of course depends upon the individual and their state of health. If you want to get a good estimate of how much you are consuming per day you can check here, here and here. There are so many variables that it is difficult to get an exact number, but an average is 100-120 mg per 8oz. home brewed cup. I drink two 16 oz cups each morning, so that means I am right at or slightly over the recommended level. Perhaps a little less as I don’t like the taste of strongly brewed coffee and I adjust my brewing process accordingly.

A good rule of thumb would be if you find yourself suffering from any of these symptoms (from the Mayo Clinic), you should consider reducing your daily caffeine consumption:

  • Migraine headache
  • Insomnia
  • Nervousness
  • Irritability
  • Restlessness
  • Frequent urination or inability to control urination
  • Stomach upset
  • Fast heartbeat
  • Muscle tremors

Will I be buying either of the two “World’s Strongest Coffees” mentioned above – Not likely. Not only do they cost about twice as much as my regular Sprout’s Blend ($19.99 per pound for both Black Insomnia and Death Wish), as I mentioned above I don’t like the taste of strongly brewed coffee.

 

Leave a Reply

