Review of “Gone Girl”

41mjvd7-ptl

Book Review – “Gone Girl” eBook was published in 2012 and was written by Gillian Flynn (http://gillian-flynn.com). Ms. Flynn has published four novels.

We purchased this novel as it was such a hit and eventually became a movie. I categorize this novel as ‘PG’ because it contains scenes of Mature Situations and Mature Language. The story is set in North Carthage, Missouri. The main characters are Nick and Amy Dunne.

The Dunne’s are about to celebrate their 5th wedding anniversary when Amy simply disappears. Searches turn up no trace of where she is. Then evidence begins to trickle in that points the police at Nick and the likely murder of Amy. Soon though you learn what really is happening. Little more can be said about the plot without giving spoilers.

I wasn’t certain about this novel. I invested just shy of 10 hours reading this 578 page Mystery. I did not find the beginning very engaging, but I persisted and found the story evolving in ways I had not expected. I liked how the chapters altered between the perspectives of Nick and Amy. The plot did take some very unexpected turns, which was the only reason I kept reading the novel. I was not very satisfied with the ending. The story stopped more than came to a conclusion. Nor did I come to really like either of the primary characters. The cover art is plain and does not give much insight to the story. I give this novel a 3.8 (rounded up to a 4) out of 5.

My book reviews are also published on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31181778-john-purvis).

Leave a Reply

