Review of “God of the Internet”

51heqfbsaul

Book Review – “God of the Internet” eBook was published in 2016 and was written by Lynn Lipinski (http://lynnlipinski.me). Ms. Lipinski has published two novels.

I received a galley of this novel for review through https://www.netgalley.com. I categorize this novel as ‘R’ because it contains scenes of Violence. The story is set in contemporary Los Angeles, California. The main characters are Ken Oakey and Juliana Al-Dossari.

Oakey is a cybersecurity expert, a white hat hacker who works to make the Internet a better, safer place. When a new and virulent worm is detected, he is drawn into a working group to defeat it.

Al-Dossari is married and has two teenagers. Her husband is a computer security expert at UCLA. Their happy marriage has begun to fall apart. When her husband threatens to return to Saudi Arabia taking their kids with him, she begins to think more of how he has changed.

The worm spreads to many thousands of machines and starts to affect infrastructure in the US – water treatment, power, financial institutions. An Islamic Terrorist group claims responsibility and threatens more if the US does not withdraw its troops from the Middle East. Gradually both Oakey and Al-Dossari begin to believe that they know who is involved. Things are clouded though due to their growing attraction for one another.

I thoroughly enjoyed the 6.5 hours I spent reading this 245 page Thriller. While I am not a cybersecurity expert, I do have a background in computer systems. I found that much of the computer tech and security threats mentioned in the story are very real. I liked the story, though I felt I knew who the hacker behind the worm was early on. The cover art is OK, though a bit dull. I give this novel a 4.5 (rounded up to a 5) out of 5.

My book reviews are also published on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31181778-john-purvis).

Leave a Reply

