macOS, iOS Tip – Recovering a Deleted Note File

screen-shot-2016-12-10-at-2-04-32-pm

I logged onto my Mac this morning and discovered that I had accidentally deleted one of my Notes files. After a bit of searching, I found that the recovery was easy.

  1. Go to https://iCloud.com and log in
  2. Select Notes
  3. At the left, there is a folder named “Recently Deleted”, open it
  4. I simply then drag-and-dropped the file I had accidentally deleted back to the Notes folder
  5. My file was recovered!

Now the missing Notes file is visible both on my Mac and my iOS devices. This works because Apple retains deleted files in iCloud for 30 days before finally deleting them. THANK GOODNESS that Apple realizes that we sometimes do foolish things!


See my other macOS and iOS tech articles


 

Leave a Reply

