Review of “The History Major”

61iCQACe6QL._SY346_

“The History Major” eBook was published in 2016 and was written by Michael Phillip Cash (http://www.michaelphillipcash.com). Mr. Cash has published 10 novels.

I received a galley of this novella for review through https://www.netgalley.com. I categorize this novella as ‘PG’ because it contains scenes of Violence and is very strange. The story is set on a small college campus. The primary character is college freshman Amanda Greene.

Amanda wakes up hung over. But that is not all. Her dorm room looks strange. Her room mate is strange. Even the campus grounds outside the dorm window looks strange. Things do not improve for Amanda as her day progresses and she tries to attend her first day of classes.

She finds her schedule has been changed and she is in history class. She hates history. She tries to get the class changed, but the women the registrar’s office just tell her to go to class. When she gets to class, it is the strangest thing yet.

So . . . I spent less than 2.5 hours reading this 132 page novella. I almost called a Rule of 50 on it, but kept reading until the end. I should have quit. I am not sure what to say about this story. It is strange. It also seems to ramble along without a clear point. There is a point in the end, but the route to that end really did not set well with me. I think that this is best classed as a Psychological Paranormal story.

The cover wasn’t very informative as to what you will find within the pages. The story was last paced, but almost frantic. Did I mention that this story is strange. I give this novella a 2 out of 5.

My book reviews are also published on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31181778-john-purvis).

Leave a Reply

