Apple Watch News #5

IMG_0126

There have not been a lot of Apple Watch articles lately. Here are a few that I thought were interesting.

Interesting Complications

The article “7 Awesome Apple Watch Complications You Should Try” gives some suggestions as to watch complications you might want to try. These include a calendar, weather, fitness, health, travel, automation and sports App.

None of these appeal to me, but you might find them of interest to customize your Apple Watch.

Price Cut Boosts Sales

When Apple cut the price of the Sports version by $50, the sales went up 250%. Read more here.

Mute/UnMute Time to Stand

I like the ‘Time to Stand” notification. It helps to remind me to get up and move around when I am setting at my desk or in front of the TV. Sometimes though you may want to disable that reminder. In “How To Mute (or Un-Mute) the Stand Notification on Your Apple Watch” how you can mute those alerts and then manually reinstate them is described.

I am not sure this will be something that I will use, but some may find it useful.

Have a Wet Watch?

Officially the Apple Watch is “water resistant but not waterproof”. The technical rating of IPX7 means that it is “protected from accidental submersion in 1m of water for up to 30 minutes, but it has not been tested against the entry of dust.”

Apple recommends not bathing or showering while wearing your Apple watch (Duh!). I have heard of a few in the media that have tried that (at least once) without running into difficulties. Myself, I am fine with taking my watch off for the short time while I shower.

If your watch gets wet (through accident or design) dry it off as soon as possible. If it gets really dunked and shows problems, you can try using silica gel packs to draw out the moisture, but that may or may not work.

One thought on “Apple Watch News #5”

Leave a Reply

