The World’s Top Bookstores I

Good book store suggestions. My wife and I liked Elliott Bay Book Company in Seattle, WA and the Magers & Quinn store in St. Paul, MN. I’m always on the lookout for interesting book stores to visit when traveling.

Cafe Book Bean

images (4)There are so many wonderful and unique bookstores all over the world and I want to showcase the most amazing. It was hard to keep this to a reasonable list, so this is Part 1 of 2. Also, I focused on uniqueness, intrigue, and wow factors.


Here are my picks for the Top Bookstores in the World:

burnside-map-2015 - EditedPowell’s City of Books
(Portland, OR)

Powell’s is legendary;
The City of Books (headquarters) takes up an entire city block;
it has 68,000 square feet, nine (color-coded) rooms, three floors, and 3,500 sections. This Flagship location is the world’s largest used book store (carrying new and used, over 1 million books) and said to be the largest independent chain of bookstores on the planet.

They even provide a map for navigating the “city.” It is an amazing store, and one of my favorite places. I am a Portland local and adore this store, but although I am…

View original post 740 more words

Leave a Reply

